Frederic L. Ballard, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Application Now Open

NABL is proud to announce that it is once again accepting applications for The Frederic L. Ballard, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Program. Now in its sixth year, the scholarship program will offer up to five qualified law school students the opportunity to attend the 2017 Fundamentals of Municipal Bond Law Seminar taking place April 19 – 21 in Denver, CO.
Completed applications are due no later than March 10, 2017. If you have any specific questions about this scholarship, please contact Linda Wyman at 202-503-3300.


Frederic L. Ballard, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

NABL renamed its existing Fundamentals of Municipal Bond Law Seminar scholarship program to honor longtime NABL member Frederic L. “Rick” Ballard, Jr. who passed away in 2014. NABL’s decision to bestow this honor on Mr. Ballard stemmed from his longstanding commitment to educating young bond attorneys.  As Mr. Ballard’s contributions to NABL touched so many of its members, NABL is confident that the Frederic L. Ballard, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Program will become part of his enduring legacy.

In recognition of the newly named program, the law firm of Ballard Spahr LLP made a generous donation in his memory to the Scholarship fund. NABL invites all of its members to support the continued funding of the Frederic L. Ballard, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Program. Contributions should be made to NABL’s affiliated 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, the Robert H. Hilderbrand, Jr. Fund, which will oversee and administer the scholarships.  Those interested in contributing to the scholarship fund can download this form and submit it along with the donation to Linda Wyman, NABL’s Chief Operating Officer.  Donations to the fund are tax deductible to the extent provided by law.

Donation Form


Ballard Spahr, LLP
American College of Bond Counsel
Sandra D. Dawson,  Updike, Kelly & Spellacy, P.C.
Meredith Hathorn, Foley & Judell, L.L.P.
Cynthia Cartledge, Anchorage, AK
Ahlers & Cooney, P.C., Des Moines, IA
Carla Young, Nixon Peabody LLP
Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP
Rene Moore/Dee Wisor, Butler Snow LLP
Neal Acker, Alabama Housing Finance Authority
Michela Daliana, Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP
Kathleen McKinney, Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A
Marc Feller, Dilworth Paxson LLP
Michael Andreana, Pullman & Comley, LLC

Scholarship Recipients:


**  Current NABL members


  • Jennifer Binger  Stanford Law School
  • Joshua Bonney –  Elon University Law School
  • Madison Coburn  University of Mississippi
  • Christa Freeman  Howard University
  • Nicole Perez  Rutgers University


  • Lauren Box – Indiana University, Robert H. McKinney School of Law (3L)**
  • Jalecia Coley – Florida A&M (3L)
  • Vera Gurova – Stetson College of Law (3L)**
  • Alexandra Rock –Northwestern University (3L)**
  • Adam Tamzoke – Indiana University Maurer School of Law and School of Public and Environmental Affairs (JD/MPA)


  • Jessica Diaz – University of California, Berkeley, School of Law (3L)
  • Tom Hoffman – Saint Louis University School of Law (2L)
  • George Miles – University of Connecticut School of Law (3L)
  • Adam Parker –University of North Carolina Law**
  • Caitlyn Smith – University of Alabama Law (3L) **


  • Noah Allen - University of South Carolina School of Law
  • Jacob Bedingfield - American University Washington College of Law
  • Felicia Hamilton - Southern University Law Center
  • Rachel Orr - New York University School of Law **
  • Roman Zhuk - University of California, Los Angeles, School of Law


  • Nathan Canova - Drake Law School **
  • Jered Davidson - University of Oklahoma Law **
  • Laura Kurtz - Widener University School of Law **
  • Michael Logan - University at Buffalo Law School **
  • Karla Turner - Vanderbilt University Law School