Press Releases

An archive of NABL's press releases.

NABL to Honor 2019 Award Recipients at The Workshop

For immediate release

August 22, 2019


NABL to Honor 2019 Award Recipients at The Workshop

Washington, D.C. —The National Association of Bond Lawyers (NABL) has named the 2019 recipients of NABL’s prestigious awards. The recipients will be presented their awards during NABL’s Annual Membership Meeting on Wednesday, September 11, 2019, in conjunction with NABL U’s The Workshop, September 11-13, at the Fairmont Millennium Park in Chicago, IL.


The Bernard P. Friel Medal recognizes distinguished service in the field of public finance. The 2019 Friel Medal recipient is Fred H. Rosenfeld of Gust Rosenfeld P.L.C., Phoenix, AZ. Rosenfeld has worked for several decades in Arizona public finance and government law. He worked on the Central Arizona Project, a massive irrigation project that supplies water to Phoenix and Tucson amongst other places.


Fred Rosenfeld has been a true pioneer of Arizona’s public finance and government law. He helped shape governmental law in Arizona and was directly involved in most of Arizona’s bond and public finance related statutes. He successfully argued before the United States Supreme Court in Phoenix v Kolodziejski, a seminal voting rights case that established the right of non-landholding electors to vote on general obligation bond questions," said NABL’s President-Elect and Awards Committee Chair Richard J. Moore.


The Frederick O. Kiel Distinguished Service Award recognizes extraordinary service to NABL over an extended period of time. The 2019 Kiel Award winner is John M. McNally of Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP, Washington, DC. McNally led the latest addition of the joint NABL/ABA Disclosure Roles of Counsel treatise and has nearly a decade of leadership as a NABL Board member including as the 2010-11 President.


“No NABL member has been more ubiquitous than John McNally. His contributions to NABL span over many decades, and he has led several initiatives including NABL’s ABA Disclosure Roles of Counsel, the Considerations in Public Pension Disclosure Task Force, and championed NABL’s diversity effort in its infancy,” added Moore.  


The Carlson Prize is awarded to the author(s) of the best scholarly article submitted for publication in The Bond Lawyer: The Journal of the National Association of Bond Lawyers. This year’s Prize is awarded to five authors of the “Tax-Exempt Financing of Sectarian Institutions Following the Supreme Court’s Decision in Trinity Lutheran Church of Columbia, Inc. v. Comer” article, published in the Summer 2018 issue of The Bond Lawyer and originally published in the Winter 2018 edition of the Municipal Finance Journal.

The authors, led by Matthias M. Edrich, Kutak Rock LLP, Denver, CO, are Lauren Ferrero, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP, San Antonio, TX; Ann C. Lebowitz, Law Office of Ann C. Lebowitz, Philadelphia, PA; John Utley, Kennedy & Graven, Chartered, Minneapolis, MN; and Paul Wisor, Garfield & Hecht, P.C., Avon, CO.


“This thoroughly researched and well written paper is the perfect example of the sort of scholarly article that warrants this prize. Congratulations to the official winners and all the unnamed but appreciated contributors for this well-earned honor,” said Moore.


In addition to Committee Chair Richard J. Moore, the 2019 NABL Awards Committee was composed of Vice Chair, Dee P. Wisor, Alexandra M. MacLennan, Faith Li Pettis, and Frederic A. Weber.



NABL exists to promote the integrity of the municipal market by advancing the understanding of and compliance with the law affecting public finance. A professional association incorporated in 1979, NABL has more than 2,500 members and is headquartered in Washington, DC. For more information, visit





Comments are closed.

Showing 0 Comment