Arizona: Affidavits filed after December 30, 2020 will be assessed a late fee of $135.00 and may result in a summary suspension of your license to practice law. The regular MCLE year will resume with the 2020-21 cycle. The regular requirement of 15 total hours, 3 of which must be professional responsibility/ethics must be completed by the June 30, 2021 compliance deadline (reduced requirements for new admittees admitted July 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020).
Arkansas: Due to COVID-19, Arkansas is not approving courses for the June 30, 2021 compliance period at this time. [This does not affect 2020 compliance.]
California: [California's temporary rule change has now expired]
Connecticut: The Connecticut Supreme Court has suspended the annual CLE requirement until further notice.
Delaware: The Supreme Court of Delaware has issued an order waiving the 12-hour in-person CLE requirement for the 2020 and 2021 compliance cycle. If you are completing your Dec. 31, 2020 or Dec. 31, 2021 CLE requirement, you can complete all 24 hours online.
Florida: The Florida Bar has extended the CLE reporting deadlines for February through November 2020 to December 31, 2020. This includes the Basic Skills Course Requirement. All other annual compliance deadlines remain the same.
Georgia: The Supreme Court of Georgia has issued an order temporarily waiving the 6-hour self-study CLE limitation effective May 28, 2020 for courses completed on or before March 31, 2021. Attorneys may complete their entire requirement through self-study, in-house, or distance learning formats such as on demand courses and live webcasts.
Illinois: [Illinois' temporary rule change has now expired]
Indiana: The Indiana Supreme Court has issued an order temporarily waiving the credit limitation for distance education until further notice by the court.
Iowa: The Iowa Supreme Court has issued a temporary order waiving the 6-hour cap of unmoderated CLE. Until further order of the court, Iowa attorneys can complete their entire 15 credit hour CLE requirement through on-demand online courses.
Kansas: The Supreme Court of the State of Kansas has removed the credit limitation on pre-recorded CLE for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 reporting periods. Kansas attorneys can complete their entire requirement via On Demand CLE courses during those cycles.
Kentucky: The Kentucky Supreme Court issued an order which moves the 2019-20 CLE deadline to June 30, 2021, when 24 credits, including 4 ethics credits, must be completed and certified. In addition, the order moves the 2019-20 CLE reporting deadline for credits timely earned to August 10, 2021.
Louisiana: In consideration of the continuing need to take measures to stop the spread of COVID-19, the Louisiana Supreme Court has issued an Order lifting the online MCLE limit from 4 hours to 12.5 hours for the 2020 compliance period ending December 31, 2020.
Maine: The Maine Supreme Judicial Court has issued an order temporarily waiving the in-person CLE requirement. Maine attorneys may complete their entire CLE requirement via On Demand courses until further notice.
Minnesota: Effective January 1, 2021, Rules 6D and 9B(4) are amended to permit lawyers to view and report up to 30 on-demand credits towards reporting periods ending after that date. Courses must be approved for credit prior to viewing per Rule 6D and must be viewed on or after January 1, 2021 if in excess of the 15 credits previously allowed under the Rules. The Court also advised that unless good cause is shown on or before September 30, 2023, the number of on-demand credits permitted will become unlimited as of January 1, 2024 for courses viewed and reported on or after that date. Live webinars continue to count as live courses and are not subject to the same limitations as on demand programs. If you have any questions, please contact the office at the email@example.com.
Mississippi: Due to the continued issues concerning Covid-19 and the limitations on the ability to gather in-person, the Mississippi Supreme Court has ordered that the limit on CLE credit earned though online programs has been temporarily removed. For the 2020-2021 CLE reporting year, attorneys may complete their CLE obligations through online, webinars or live, in-person programs. This provision includes newly admitted lawyers who are to complete the program by July 31, 2021. These attorneys may also complete this program through online, webinars or live, in-person programs.
Missouri: The Supreme Court of Missouri has extended the CLE compliance deadline until September 30, 2020 and has extended the reporting deadline until October 31, 2020 (but MO will not assess any late fees for courses completed and reported on or before December 31, 2020.)
Montana: [Montana's temporary rule change expired]
Nebraska: The Supreme Court of Nebraska has issued a temporary order waiving the 5-hour in-person CLE requirement. If you are completing your CLE requirement, you can complete all 10 hours online. You must complete them before January 20, 2021, when the temporary order ends.
New Hampshire: [New Hampshire's temporary rule change expired]
New Jersey: The Supreme Court of New Jersey has suspended the requirement for in-person CLE due to COVID-19. All 24 required CLE hours may be fulfilled through online courses until further notice. (No end date currently set)
New Mexico: [New Mexico's temporary CLE rule change expired]
New York: The New York CLE Board has issued an order temporarily allowing Newly Admitted Attorneys to complete their live Skills requirement via live webcast, teleconference, and videoconference. This change is effective March 11, 2020 through January 31, 2021.
North Dakota: [North Dakota's temporary CLE rule change expired]
Ohio: The Supreme Court of Ohio has issued an order temporarily waiving the self-study CLE limitation for the 2019-2020 and the 2020-2021 compliance cycles. Ohio attorneys with last names M through Z may complete their entire requirement through approved self-study courses for their December 31, 2020 deadline and attorneys with last names A through L may do so as well for their December 31, 2021 deadline. Self-study formats include On Demand, Audio, and Live Interactive Webinars. Previously, the Ohio Commission on Continuing Legal Education had waived the self-study cap for the 2018-2019 Late Compliance period and extended the deadline to 6/29/20.
Oklahoma: [Oklahoma's temporary rule change expired]
Pennsylvania: The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania has issued three orders in response to the COVID-19 Pandemic:
- The distance learning cap has been waived for all 2020 deadlines. Attorneys may complete their entire 2020 requirement online via On Demand, Webcast, MP3, etc.;
- The CLE deadline for Compliance Group 1 has been extended to August 31, 2020 (previously April 30, 2020). All other annual compliance deadlines remain the same;
- Effective January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021, Live Webcasts will be considered Live (non-capped) credits. Group 1 and 2 attorneys are still limited for distance learning courses completed after their 2020 deadline and before January 1, 2021. However, they can complete live webinars after their compliance deadline but before December 31, 2021 for the 2022 reporting cycle.
Puerto Rico: [Puerto Rico's temporary CLE rule change has now expired]
Rhode Island: The Rhode Island Supreme Court issued an order suspending the annual CLE requirement for the 2020 compliance year. All CLE credits that would have been used to satisfy the 2020 requirement can be carried over to satisfy the CLE requirements for the 2021 reporting year.
South Carolina: The Supreme Court of South Carolina has issued an order waiving the credit limit for Alternative Delivery Format courses for the 2020-2021 reporting year. SC attorneys may take any portion of this cycle's requirement via online formats such as On Demand programming.
Tennessee: Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the Tennessee Supreme Court has issued an order temporarily waiving the 8-hour Distance Learning CLE limitation for the 2021 requirements. Tennessee attorneys can now complete any portion of the requirement through approved Distance Learning until December 31, 2021. Previously, the TN Supreme Court issued similar orders waiving the distance learning CLE limitation for the 2019 and 2020 requirements.
Texas: The State Bar of Texas has granted the following automatic extensions for their CLE requirement:
- September compliance deadlines: 90-day extension with a final deadline of December 31st;
- October compliance deadlines: 60-day extension with a current deadline of January 31st;
- November compliance deadlines: 60-day extension with a current deadline of January 31st;
- December compliance deadlines: 60-day extension with a final deadline of February 28th.
Utah: The Supreme Court of Utah issued an order suspending the traditional live in-person credit requirement for attorneys reporting in 2020 and 2021, allowing all required CLE to be fulfilled with online self-study via audio or video presentations, webcasts or computer interactive telephonic programs. (Utah's other temporary CLE measure regarding extension of the 2020 completion deadline has now expired).
Vermont: The Vermont Supreme Court has issued an order lifting all format limitations/requirements for the 2019-2021 reporting period. Vermont attorneys who are due on June 30, 2021 can complete their entire requirement through any combination of Moderated Programming (e.g. Live Webcasts), Non-Moderated Programming With Interactivity as a Key Component (e.g. On Demand or Audio courses), or Non-Moderated Programming Without Interactivity. The credit limitation for activities claimed under Rule 6 (teaching, writing, mentoring, etc.) has also been lifted for the 2019-2021 reporting period. Previously, Vermont issued an order waiving the self-study CLE limitation for the 2018-2020 reporting period only.
Virginia: The Supreme Court of Virginia issued an order on April 14, 2020, extending a number of compliance deadlines that affect Virginia lawyers to ease their professional responsibilities during the COVID-19 emergency. The extensions move all deadlines from July 1, 2020 until September 30, 2020, and October 31, 2020 to December 31, 2020. The completion deadline for 2020 MCLE requirement is extended from October 31 to December 31, 2020. The required CLE hours must be reported no later than 4:45 p.m. EST February 15, 2021.
Washington: The Supreme Court of Washington issued an order extending the 2018-2020 reporting period for Group 2. Attorneys that are in this group must complete their full requirement on or before December 31, 2021 and certify their completion by February 1, 2022. The following reporting period for Group 2 attorneys has been shortened to 2022-2023. Attorneys in Group 2 may carry over up to 30 total credits including 4 Ethics into the 2022-2023 reporting period from the 2018-2021 cycle.
West Virginia: [West Virginia's temporary rule change has now expired]
Wisconsin: [Wisconsin's temporary rule change has now expired]