The Carlson Prize

The Carlson Prize, named in honor of Rita J. and Charles P. Carlson, and conceived by Glenn E. Floyd, Norman, Oklahoma, may be awarded annually to the author of the best scholarly article submitted for publication in The Bond Lawyer: The Journal of the National Association of Bond Lawyers, or on the Association's website.

The prize carries an honorarium of $500 and a tuition grant for attendees at NABL U's The Workshop. Mr. Floyd's firm contributed $1,000 to the Association's 501(c)(3) affiliate, the Robert H. Hilderbrand, Jr., Fund, toward endowing the prize, and the Board of Directors hopes that other members of their firms will also see fit to honor the Carlsons in that manner.

The Editor of The Bond Lawyer will recommend a candidate(s) for The Carlson Prize to the NABL Awards Committee. The NABL Board of Directors selects the recipients.


Recipients of the prize to date are:

1992 - Joseph H. Johnson, Jr., Birmingham, AL

1993 - Robert C. Apfel and Rafi Reguer, New York, NY

1995 - James E. Spiotto, Chicago, IL

1997 - John M. McNally, Washington, D.C.

1998 - Linda B. Schakel, Washington, D.C.

2000 - Griffith F. Pitcher, Atlanta, GA

2001 - Thomas N. Harding, Chicago, IL

2004 - John Buckley, New York, NY

2005 - Martha R. Fleisher, Dallas, TX

2008 - John O. Swendseid, Reno, NV

2009 - Paul S. Maco, Washington, DC

2012 - J. Hobson Presley, Birmingham, AL

-Matthias M. Edrich, Denver, CO
-Lauren N. Ferrero, San Antonio, TX
-Ann C. Lebowitz, Philadelphia, PA
-John Utley, Minneapolis, MN
-Paul Wisor, Avon, CO
   - Stacey C. Lewis, Seattle, WA
   - David Y. Bannard, Boston, MA
   - Erich Schmitz, San Francisco, CA
   - Glenn E. Weinstein, Chicago, IL