NABL Awards 

The Bernard P. Friel Medal honors distinguished service in public finance and was established in 1982 in honor of NABL’s first President. Nominees need not be NABL members but may not be current members of the NABL Board of Directors. A list of past recipients of the Friel Medal can be found here.  

The Frederick O. Kiel Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual for distinguished service to NABL over an extended period of time. Frederick O. Kiel served as NABL's fourth president and was editor of The Bond Lawyer for twenty-five years. A list of past recipients of the Kiel Award can be found here.  

NABL Announces 2019 Award Recipients

The Bernard P. Friel Medal recognizes distinguished service in the field of public finance. The 2019 Friel Medal will be awarded to a giant in the public finance world, Fred H. Rosenfeld of Gust Rosenfeld P.L.C. President-Elect and Awards Committee Chair Rich Moore said, “Fred Rosenfeld has been a true pioneer of Arizona public finance and government law. He has worked for decades on arguably the most important public works project in Arizona history, the Central Arizona Project, a massive irrigation project that supplies water to Phoenix and Tucson amongst other places. He has also shaped governmental law in Arizona, being directly involved in most of Arizona’s bond and public finance related statutes. Mr. Rosenfeld also successfully argued before the United States Supreme Court in Phoenix v Kolodziejski, a seminal voting rights case that established the right of non-landholding electors to vote on general obligation bond questions.“

The Frederick O. Kiel Distinguished Service Award recognizes extraordinary service to NABL over an extended period of time. The 2019 Kiel Award will be presented to John M. McNally. “No NABL member has been more ubiquitous than John McNally.  His contributions to NABL include: (1) leading the latest addition of the joint NABL/ABA Disclosure Roles of Counsel treatise,(2) leading the Considerations in Public Pension Disclosure Task Force, (3) nearly a decade of leadership as a NABL Board member including as the 2010-11 President, and (4) championing NABL’s diversity effort in its infancy.” said Moore.

The Carlson Prize will be awarded to the five authors of the “Tax-Exempt Financing of Sectarian Institutions Following the Supreme Court’s Decision in Trinity Lutheran Church of Columbia, Inc. v. Comer” article, published in the Summer 2018 issue of The Bond Lawyer and originally published in the Winter 2018 edition of the Municipal Finance Journal. The authors, led by Matthias M. Edrich, Kutak Rock LLP, Denver, CO, are Lauren Ferrero, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP, San Antonio, TX, Ann C. Lebowitz, Law Office of Ann C. Lebowitz, Philadelphia, PA, John Utley, Kennedy & Graven, Chartered, Minneapolis, MN, and Paul Wisor, Garfield & Hecht, P.C., Avon, CO. “This thoroughly researched and well written paper is the perfect example of the sort of scholarly article that warrants this prize. Congratulations to the official winners and all the unnamed but appreciated contributors for this well-earned honor.” said Moore.